Iowa Commission of Veterans Affairs

The Iowa Commission of Veterans Affairs is comprised of 11 members from established veterans service organizations, with one member at large, and one member representing the Iowa National Guard. Each member is nominated by their organization, then approved by the Office of the Governor. By law, the commission will retain a 50/50 female/male ratio. Together, the commission serves in multiple functions by providing guidance on veteran issues, representing and communicating with their respective service organizations, public and legislative advocacy, and approving Iowa Veterans Trust Fund and Veteran Project Assistance applications. Current commission members are:


American Legion: Elizabeth Ledvina (Chair);

American Veterans (AMVETS): Mary Van Horn;

Disabled American Veterans (DAV): Open; TBD

Iowa National Guard: Lt. Col. George Mosby;  

Military Order of the Purple Heart (MOPH): Robert Suesakul;

Public Member at Large: Darlene McMartin;

Iowa Association of County Commissioners and Veteran Service Officers (IACCVSO): Joella Perry;

Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA) Commissioner: Scott Miller;

Reserve Officers Association: Gary Wattnem;

Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW): Becky DirksHaugsted,,

Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA): Gregory Paulline;