IOWA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

The Regular Quarterly Meeting of the Iowa Commission of Veterans Affairs Meeting Wednesday, July 1, 2020 Conference Call beginning at 9:30 a.m. 7105 – NW 70th Avenue Johnston, IA 50313-1824

- Present:Commissioner Ledvina, Chair
Pat Sweeney, Polk County Director
Mike Mortensen, Polk County VSO
Linda Gorkow, Executive Director Iowa Food Bank Association
Michelle Book, President & CEO Food Bank of Iowa
- By Phone: Commissioner Connors Commissioner Cressler Commissioner Lloyd Commissioner Paulline Commissioner Wattnem Commissioner Whitmore Commissioner Van Horn
- Absent: Commissioner Hyde Commissioner McMartin
- Staff:Karl Lettow, Public Information Officer, IDVAMari Mielke, IDVA Recording Secretary
- Dave Allen, Sen, Grassley's Office **Guests on Call:** Brenda Safranski, Sen. Ernst's Office Chris Oliver, Wright County Administrator Sue Rich, Washington County Administrator Patty Hamann, Cedar County Administrator Ed Staszewski, Clinton County Director Timon Oujiri, IVH Commandant Rod Derringer - VARO Julie Simon - Iowa Senate Democratic Caucus Staff Bob Bird - Iowa Senate Republican Caucus Staff **Richard Witt, Fayette County Commissioner** Doug McQuire, American Legion James Kesler, American Legion Judith Johnson-Mekota - Director, Iowa City VA Gail Graham - Director, Des Moines VA

NOTE: THESE MINUTES ARE WHEN DATED AND SIGNED BY THE MEETING CHAIR

Date: 10-7-2023 laping **APPROVED:** Elizabeth Ledvina, Chair, Iowa Commission of Veterans Affairs

Pledge of Allegiance/Moment of Silence:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairperson Ledvina followed by a moment of silence.

Approval of Commission Minutes:

Commissioner Van Horn made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 8, 2020 quarterly meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Lloyd. Motion carried; approved unanimously

Commissioner Wattnem made a motion to approve the Trust Fund minutes from the January 2 meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Cressler made a motion to approve the Trust Fund minutes from the February 6, meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Lloyd made a motion to approve the Trust Fund minutes from the March 5, meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Whitmore. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Cressler made a motion to approve the Trust Fund minutes from the April 2, meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Wattnem. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Lloyd made a motion to approve the Trust Fund minutes from the May 7, meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Whitmore made a motion to approve the Trust Fund minutes from the June 4, meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Lloyd. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

VA Regional Office Update

Rod Derringer gave an update for the VA Regional Office with information for veterans to use if they are experiencing issues with their claims. They should contact by Email: <u>PCTC.VBADES@va.gov</u>; by phone at: 515-323-7464 and by Fax: 515-323-7583.

Iowa City VA Medical Center Update

Judith Johnson-Mekota gave an update for the Iowa City VAMC.

Des Moines VA Medical Center Update

Gail Graham gave an update for the Des Moines VAMC.

Veterans Home Update

Commandant Oujiri gave an update for the Iowa Veterans Home

Camp Dodge Office Update

No update.

Approval of Commission Minutes:

Commissioner Van Horn made a motion to approve the minutes from the quarterly meeting of January 8, 2020 and Commissioner Lloyd seconded the motion. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Wattnem made a motion to approve the Trust Fund meeting minutes of January 2, 2020 and was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Cressler made a motion to approve the Trust Fund meeting minutes of February 6, 2020 and was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Lloyd made a motion to approve the Trust Fund meeting minutes of March 5, 2020 and was seconded by Commissioner Whitmore. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Cressler made a motion to approve the Trust Fund meeting minutes of April 2, 2020 and was seconded by Commissioner Wattnem. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Lloyd made a motion to approve the Trust Fund meeting minutes of May 7, 2020 and was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

Commissioner Whitmore made a motion to approve the Trust Fund meeting minutes of June 4, 2020 and was seconded by Commissioner Lloyd. Motion carried; approved unanimously.

New Business

A presentation from Linda Gorkow, Executive Director of the Iowa Food Bank Association and Michelle Book, President & CEO of the Food Bank of Iowa with a proposal for a Partnership with the Commission in a request for \$500,000 to help provide food assistance to veterans in all 99 counties in Iowa. After discussion of the proposal for the requested funds, the Commission choose to table the request because the request does not follow the criteria for the Veterans Project Assistance Program for use of the Veterans License Plate Fund.

Elections

Commissioner Wattnem made a motion to nominate Elizabeth Ledvina to continue as Chairperson and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; Commissioner Ledvina was nominated unanimously.

Commissioner Wattnem made a motion to nominate Commissioner Connors as 1st Vice Chair and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; Commissioner Connors was nominated unanimously.

Commissioner Ledvina made a motion to nominate Commissioner Wattnem as 2nd Vice Chair and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Van Horn. Motion carried; Commissioner Wattnem was nominated unanimously.

Public Comment

No public comment.

Next Commission meeting

The next quarterly Commission meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, October 7th, 2020.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.